Eight Maids

Eight maids a-milking may represent the eight Beatitudes, from the Lord Jesus’ mountain sermon:

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness,

for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.

Blessed are those who suffer persecution for righteousness' sake,

for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

How hard they are! I want to see God, but I am not pure. I want to receive mercy but rather enjoy withholding it. Being poor in spirit is not desirable, yet that is the only state in which we shall obtain heaven. Dairy maids and dairymen got up early and worked hard. The milk they obtained, and from it the butter, cream and cheese, surely made the strain worthwhile, both to their own bellies and to the townsfolk to whom they were sold. Is following the gospel message worthwhile? Are the expense and troubles worth the outcomes? 

And every one that hath forsaken houses, or brethren, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my name's sake, shall receive an hundredfold, and shall inherit everlasting life. Matthew 19:29

Image by Thomas from Pixabay